Rss Feed Like Us on facebook Google Plus

October 9, 2013

NOBEL PRIZE WINNERS 2013 Peter Higgs, Francois Englert ARTICLE

Nobel Prize for Physics 2013 winners Peter Higgs, Francois Englert(theorists of Higgs boson, the key to the universe)

Peter Higgs (Britain) and Francois Englert (Belgium) won the Nobel Prize for physics for the
year 2013 on Tuesday (09-10-2013) for predicting the existence of the Higgs boson particle that explains how elementary matter attained the mass to form stars and planets. The winners were much heralded following last year’s discovery of the Higgs by physicists at the CERN particle physics lab near Geneva, Switzerland, using its Large Hadron Collider (LHC). It is probably the least surprising Nobel of the year. Because people have been speculating for months that the award was going to be centered around the discovery of the Higgs Boson.

50 Years after their original work, the new building block of nature was finally detected in the year 2012 at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) center's giant, underground particle-smasher near Geneva. The discovery was hailed as one of the most important in physics.
"The awarded theory is a central part of the Standard Model of particle physics that describes how the world is constructed," the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement.

The nobel prize for physics in the year 2012 won by Serge Haroche of France and David Wineland of America.
Note : Following reported observation of the Higgs-like particle in July 2012, several Indian media outlets reported on the supposed neglect of credit to Indian physicist Satyendra Nath Bose after whose work in the 1920s the class of particles "bosons" is named, although physicists have described Bose's connection to the discovery as tenuous.

© 2011-2016 Techimpulsion All Rights Reserved.

The content is copyrighted to Tech Impulsion and may not be reproduced on other websites.